Japanese Handicrafts

20 Apr

On our recent trip to Japan we noticed that gift giving is a very important part of Japanese culture.  The Japanese are very warm and friendly people who try to show their appreciation for you in such gentle and considerate ways.  We were really moved by their generosity during our recent trip.

When we went to visit a good friend from my university days we were so touched by the gifts she offered us.  Her mother had hand sewn and created some beautiful, perfectly crafted gifts.  I can’t even fathom the amount of  time that must have gone into these pieces!

These are called Temari balls.  It is a traditional embroidery technique and these balls are given as a gesture of good will, friendship and loyalty.  They have very intricate designs that are usually geometric and symmetrical with many of the design elements being based on nature.  The colours are vibrant and so beautiful.

I would have loved to spend some time with my friend’s mother and watched how she sews all these beautiful gifts.  Maybe a good reason to return to Japan one day?

We were also presented with this small hand sewn purse filled with tiny little juggling balls and a beautiful hand sewn flower.  In the silk flower there is a tiny little pouch  filled with scented cotton and place enough to store small pieces of jewellery.


I think the Japanese juggling balls are referred to as Otedama.  You can find these little silk purses with the balls in many of the tiny boutiques around Japan.  So many thanks to my dear friend and her very talented mother for such lovely and thoughtful gifts.

5 Responses to “Japanese Handicrafts”

  1. grammao April 20, 2012 at 17:34 #

    Those gifts seriously leave me breathless, they are exquisite. Will you learn to juggle?

  2. cilia1 April 21, 2012 at 09:25 #

    wanneer vertrekken we naar japan op studiereis???????????

  3. little pink cakes April 22, 2012 at 11:21 #

    Magnificent gifts and those colors are so beautiful!

  4. azwife34 February 11, 2015 at 14:39 #

    I had a Japanese pen pal in 6th grade (I am 57 now) and his mother made and sent me a Temari ball Christmas ornament. It has hung on my tree each year since and I treasure it more each year.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Japanese Purchases « jillian in italy - June 18, 2012

    […] can’t forget that I also bought these Echino materials as well while in Japan and received these amazing Japanese Temari Balls as a gift. Share this:FacebookPinterestEmailRedditLike this:Like2 […]

Please leave a comment!