Folkabilly Apron

7 Mar

A few weeks ago my mother gave me some old vintage apron patterns that used to belong to my grandmother.  I finally chose a model I wanted to sew and this is the result.

I was going for a little folkabilly look (cross between happy homemaker from the 50’s, a folksy peasant lady and rockabilly).

The pattern was really easy to follow and I love the fact that all the pieces were already cut out and ready to use.  Which means my grandmother probably made this exact same apron about 50 years ago.

I’m going through an apron phase at the moment and I’m really looking forward to going apron shopping in Japan next month.  Maybe I’ll even find an easy to follow pattern such as this.

7 Responses to “Folkabilly Apron”

  1. Kat March 7, 2012 at 15:37 #

    thats so cute! 🙂 totally folkabilly! was hoping to see a picture of you wearing it, in 50s fashion. hehe enjoying so much the choice of color and prints – and the yellow flower ribbon edges just makes me smile all over

  2. Kat March 7, 2012 at 15:49 #

    oh and I just clicked on the japanese apron dress – how cool is that! post if you find it in Japan please. super exciting 🙂

    • jc March 8, 2012 at 15:12 #

      Isn’t it great? I’ll do my best to find a pattern and if I do I’ll send it to you!

  3. Judith March 8, 2012 at 14:53 #

    Great job
    Margaret brought unfinished aprons, as well as te patterns?

    • jc March 8, 2012 at 15:11 #

      She just brought the patterns and lots of material. We made this apron together while she was here. I’ll be making lots more of the other models as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Folkabilly Apron #2 « jillian in italy - October 3, 2012

    […] and I have a (long term) goal to make as many as I can.  Last year I wrote a post about an apron I made from the collection and it turned out to be very folkabilly (cross between happy homemaker […]

  2. Folkabilly Apron #3 « - January 29, 2013

    […] I have a goal to slowly make them all.   This is the third pattern I’ve tried (others are here and here).  These patterns are relatively easy to follow and have the bonus of having all the […]

Please leave a comment!