Vintage Aprons

2 Mar

I had to pass by the mercatino usato to pick up my prized table that I purchased the other day and it just so happened that there was a pile of never-used, linen grembiule (aprons) from the 60’s.  They are so beautiful and so well made.  And the patterns and colours are so gorgeous. I fell in love with all of them so I ended up buying….all of them.  They will make perfect aprons for all my baking (and my new goal to look prettier in the kitchen) and I’m sure more than a few will be gifted to fellow bakers who I know will appreciate them.

I’d like some of these as pretty little dresses for the summer.  Hmmm…is it possible to turn an apron into a dress?  Maybe with a few material insert pieces in the back?  Or maybe I can sew two together?  Ideas ideas…

The cut of the aprons is so flattering and the palette of colours so reminiscent of the 60’s and 70’s.

Flowers and apples!  Is there anything cheery-er?

13 Responses to “Vintage Aprons”

  1. grammao March 2, 2012 at 12:59 #

    They are so gorgeous – the materials must have been designed or printed just for them.

  2. patama March 2, 2012 at 14:22 #

    Ingorda

  3. greta March 2, 2012 at 15:29 #

    Oh my.
    I’m more than a little jalos.
    You’re right, that cut is beautiful.
    The first thing I thought was, I want a dress like that.
    Especially in those bright colors and great graphic esigns.
    Boy, what a find!
    Love from,
    Greta

  4. Sharon @ Discovering blog March 2, 2012 at 19:35 #

    Holy cow, one is cuter than the other!
    Great grab – they are gorgeous. You could do a raffle or a contest, and one could be a prize!

  5. christina March 3, 2012 at 19:55 #

    ack!!!! i love that apple one!!!!

  6. Kat March 5, 2012 at 11:49 #

    how could I have possibly missed this post?? I just found this on my reader now! so beautifull!! colors, patterns – aprons! glorious 🙂 I love it. I can totally see them brightening up the kitchen. and a happy chef too. haha.. yeah you could definitely make them into dresses. or maybe try like Bjork in her Bachelorette video: http://youtu.be/x5nNfbTS6N4 (saddish song but you get the idea. hehe)

    • jc March 8, 2012 at 15:16 #

      I love that video and song. Only Bjork could get away with wearing an outfit like that…

  7. Julie De Keyzer March 5, 2012 at 13:39 #

    Gorgeous! They are so cute, I love them, especially the blue and yellow one. But the apple-one is adorable too!
    Btw, I just bake some cupcakes, and I am sure they will taste really nice, but the decorations look like Corneeltje made them … I’ll just blame it on the hormones 😉
    Maybe next time we see each other, in stead of gossiping, you can give me some baking lessons!!! And then we can keep on gossiping, while baking 😉
    xxx

    • jc March 5, 2012 at 16:25 #

      Baking and gossiping…sounds like a date!

  8. theperfectnose October 18, 2012 at 13:46 #

    Sweet! These are beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Patricia January 17, 2013 at 16:53 #

    I LOVE THEM!!!!!!!!!!! I want one! ahhhh!

    • Jillian in Italy January 17, 2013 at 18:39 #

      Patricia, send me your address and I’ll make sure one comes in the mail for you! Jx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Folkabilly Apron « jillian in italy - March 7, 2012

    […] going through an apron phase at the moment and I’m really looking forward to going apron shopping in Japan next month.  […]

Please leave a comment!